How to Start Reading Sarah J. Maas’s Books: A Guide for New Fantasy Readers

Find out the best way to start reading Sarah J. Maas’s books with our guide.

Dive into her amazing fantasy series, from Throne of Glass to A Court of Thorns and Roses, and discover where to begin your magical adventure.

Sarah J. Maas has authored multiple series, including the popular Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses.
Following the recommended reading order enhances understanding of the character development and the intricacies of the plot.
Maas's books cater to a wide range of interests, from epic adventures to thrilling contemporary fantasy.

The Magical Worlds of Sarah J. Maas

Ready to lose yourself in worlds filled with exciting adventures and memorable characters? Lucky for you, Sarah J. Maas has crafted some of the most thrilling fantasy series available today.

Here’s the best sequence to start reading Sarah J. Maas’s books:

  1.  A Court of Thorns and Roses Series:

  • Begin with A Court of Thorns and Roses, where you’ll meet Feyre as she navigates the dangerous faerie lands.
  • Continue with A Court of Mist and Fury, and follow through to A Court of Wings and Ruin.
  • After the main trilogy, read the bridging novella A Court of Frost and Starlight.
  • A Court of Silver Flames focuses on Nesta, Feyre’s sister, exploring new challenges and a personal transformation journey.
  1. Throne of Glass Series:

    • Start with Throne of Glass, where you’ll meet Celaena, a compelling assassin fighting for her freedom.
    • Follow the series through Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, and further, maintaining the publication order.
    • The Assassin’s Blade, a collection of novellas, is recommended before Queen of Shadows to deepen your understanding of the backstory.
    • Empire of Storms and Tower of Dawn should ideally be read in tandem as they occur simultaneously within the series timeline.
    • Conclude with the Kingdom of Ash.
  2. Crescent City Series:

    • Start with House of Earth and Blood, which introduces Bryce Quinlan in a thrilling tale of mystery and supernatural politics.
    • Continue with House of Sky and Breath.
    • Look forward to the upcoming House of Flame and Shadow, set to release in 2024.

Sarah J. Maas’s books can be read in any order if you stick to one series at a time. However, starting with the Throne of Glass series might provide a broader foundation for understanding her world-building before diving into A Court of Thorns and Roses.

For a deeper immersion, exploring companion books like The World of Throne of Glass can enrich your experience.

If you’re also interested in her take on DC characters, Catwoman: Soulstealer provides a fantastic detour into superhero fiction.

Dive Deeper Into Sarah J. Maas’s Fantasy Adventures!

If you’ve started your journey with Sarah J. Maas’s books and are looking for more, continue exploring the rich worlds she has created. Her series are ever-evolving, with new books always on the horizon.

Each series offers new twists and profound character arcs that are sure to keep you hooked.

Delve deeper into her fantastical worlds and see where your next reading adventure takes you. Happy reading!

Grace Angelique

An accomplished Art News Journalist with a decade of experience, Grace has passionately covered global art events, exhibitions, and emerging trends. With a keen eye for aesthetics and a pulse on the art world's undercurrents, Grace has crafted compelling narratives that bridge art and its societal impacts. Her work has graced major publications, offering readers a fresh perspective on contemporary art and its evolving landscape.

Read Full Biography
Back to previous

You May Also Like


Mick Herron: From Struggling Writer to Literary Superstar

Mick Herron, the acclaimed author of the Slow Horses series, has seen his fortunes change dramatically. With over three million…


Comprehensive Guide to Fantasy Fiction: Origins, Subgenres, and Must-Read Fantasy Books

Fantasy fiction is a genre that brings to life magical and supernatural elements in imaginative, often mythical worlds. This guide…


Stephen King’s New Book “You Like It Darker” Features Classic Horror with a Fresh Twist

Stephen King’s latest collection, You Like It Darker, showcases his enduring talent in horror fiction. With 12 stories that blend…

  • mail
  • facebook
  • twitter

related articles


Best Historical Fiction Books: A Window into the Past


AI in Manga: Transforming Japanese Comics


“Wild Houses” by Colin Barrett: A Literary Masterpiece

Articles About Literature

Discover the 9 Best Sci-Fi Books of 2024: A Comprehensive Guide to This Year’s Must-Reads

May 16, 2024

How to Start Reading Sarah J. Maas’s Books: A Guide for New Fantasy Readers

May 13, 2024

Explore the Boundless Imaginations of Speculative Fiction in 2024: Must-Read Books and Beyond

May 8, 2024

Bildungsroman Novels: Understanding and Appreciating the Coming-of-Age Genre

May 2, 2024

Alex Michaelides Discusses Inspiration Behind The Fury in Detailed Interview

April 30, 2024